slow cooker honey garlic chicken

Ok, so clearly I’m developing a problem. All I seem to be cooking is chicken. I will try a different protein….eventually.

Now down to business. I found this recipe at Damn Delicious, it was honestly one of the easiest things ever! You can head to their site for the exact directions, which I can’t seem to follow because, well, I’m cheap and lazy.

In any case, here’s my version:

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 16 ounces baby red potatoes, quartered
  • 16 ounces baby carrots

 

For the sauce

  • 3/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

wp-1463490235236.jpg

First, I trimmed the chicken a bit, cut my potatoes, and dumped my carrots in the crock pot. Then I mixed everything into a bowl, loaded everything into the crockpot and poured the mixture over top. I was tight on time so instead of doing 8hours on low, I did 3.5 on high. The recipe also says that you can throw in green beans in the last half hour, which I would have done if mine were still good…but alas, they weren’t.

The recipe recommends basting every hour. I on the other hand tried to space it out a little, and actually flipped my chicken about halfway through.

wp-1463490230451.jpg

It. Was. Yum! The chicken pulled apart, the carrots were soft but not mushy, and the potatoes were actually cooked through. I’m glad I did the quarters though, because while they were good, the inside was definitely a little hard.

For my Kalydeco kids, there’s nearly 25g of fat in one serving! Yeah, you heard me! So it’s a healthy alternative, with more than enough fat for a pill!

wp-1463490226194.jpg

Next time, I’ll try to broil the tops a bit before hand and get it all crunchy too. mmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

