Lots o’ Chicken

It’s only recipe post number 2 and clearly, I love me some chicken.

I found this main recipe for Hawaiian Chicken on pinterest (you can check out mine here). And it is linked to Damn Delicious. You can head there to find the original recipe, since as always, mine had a few changes. Partially because I’m lazy and cheap.

Chicken:

  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 3 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

 

For the pineapple:
  • 1 large pineapple, peeled, cored and cut into 8 to 10 wedges
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

In a medium bowl, mix together pineapple juice, brown sugar, ketchup, garlic, and sesame oil . Reserve 1/4 cup and set aside.
In a gallon size Ziploc bag combine the mixture and chicken; I marinated over night, be sure to flip this every once in a while.

In another gallon size Ziploc bag or large bowl, combine pineapple and brown sugar. I actually marinated this overnight as well, and actually used this to baste the chicken 🙂

Preheat grill to medium high heat. Add chicken and pineapple to grill and cook, flipping once and basting chicken with reserved 1/4 cup marinade. Instead of using the extra marinade, I actually used the brown sugar and pineapple mixture to baste. Grill until cooked through, about 5-6 minutes on each side.

The pineapple was so good on the grill!

The Other Chicken:

Since I cook in large quantities so I have leftovers for lunch, we decided to marinate a few other chicken breasts.

BBQ:

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1 gallon size bag
  • 1/2 c sweet baby ray’s honey bbq sauce
  • 1/2 c sweet baby ray’s original bbq sauce (this has a little spice to it)

Italian:

  • 1 cup Italian dressing

Balsamic:

  • 1/4 balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 extra virgin olive oil

image

Now for my favorite part! THE SIDES

I made chicken rice pilaf. I won’t lie, it came from a box, but it was delish. Unfortunately the photo I took of it won’t upload 😦

I steamed some broccoli. No butter, low sodium salt, just to taste.

image

Grilled green beans. These I lightly coated in olive oil, added a touch of salt, and pepper and tossed before putting into aluminum foil on the grill.

This entire thing took a total of about 20 minutes to cook up. It was easy and pretty delectable.

wp-1461160545566.jpg

5 thoughts on “Lots o’ Chicken

Leave a Reply

