Baked Chicken Fajitas

So this is my first cooking post. Each week I try to cook something new with my boyfriend and I thought maybe I would share my kitchen adventures. My cooking is multi-purpose however. I try to be healthy, but due to taking medication for Cystic Fibrosis, Kalydeco, I need to get a certain amount of fat as well, so that will also be noted in my posts.

This week we decided on Mexican. I found the original recipe on Six Sisters. I have followed them on Pinterest and made a ton of their recipes. I change them a little and force them on my friends and family.

So! Baked chicken fajitas. I know when you think fajitas, you think in a pan on the stove, but no no my friend, this was easy peasy into the oven.

The site said it would take 15 min to prep, 25 min to cook, and would serve 6….wellllll….some of that was true.

For my CFers: There is 5g of Fat in a cup of chicken breast, combine that with some refried beans and extra cheese and you’re golden for Kalydeco 🙂

You can head to their site for the recipe I started with, but here’s mine:

Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time: 30 min
Total: 50 min

Ingredients

  • 1.5 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into strips (I’ll cube it next time)
  • 3 small buffalo tomatoes
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and sliced
  • 1 red pepper, seeded and sliced
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 packets low sodium ortega fajita seasoning
  • Mexican cheese blend
  • flour tortillas

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F
  2. Grease a 13X9 baking dish
  3. Cut all ingredients
  4. Put chicken strips in a large bowl with 1/2 packet of seasoning and oil, I found this easier to coat the chicken.
  5. I slowly added the veggies and more seasoning. Handful of Veg, sprinkle of seasoning
  6. Bake uncovered for 20 minutes
  7. Add cheese to top
  8. Bake for another 5-10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked
  9. I added more cheese as soon as it came out of the oven
  10. Spoon to serve!

**Cheese lovers tip, when you heat up your tortillas, add a bit of cheese in a strip down the center where you place the chicken. Love me some extra cheese!

We made beans and corn as sides. So I used a bit more of everything, and between the two of us we ate about 3/4 of the pan. Apparently we eat a lot. I won’t lie, our tortillas were stuffed, but damn was it good.

wp-1460342178285.jpg

Leave a Reply

