Landing in Lisbon

When I left for my European Extravaganza I saw this sign->

1001970_10154072247220562_5366569909414851684_n_edited

And really it could not have been more appropriate for everything that I was about to see and do. I left JFK on May 5th, 2014 and landed in Lisbon, Portugal on May 7th. It was late morning when I landed and all I could think about was getting to my apartment. I had decided to do Lisbon a bit different and chose to stay at an apartment listed on Airbnb.com.

10342779_10154072247615562_4041537697910825218_n_edited

My host, Christina, was amazing and we had arranged everything in advance. Getting out of the airport was easy, and from the Welcome to Lisbon stand I was able to get a car for about 30 Euro to my apartment in the Alfama district. I had my own room with a balcony and could see the city in one direction and the river Tagus in the other. My first day was a lazy one where I sat at my balcony and honestly felt as though I could sit there forever. The breeze was incredible and the smells of food…delicious.

That night I walked through the city a bit. At the advisement of my host I found my way to the top of one of the tallest hills in Lisbon just in time for sunset, Miradouro da Senhora do Monte.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

After snapping some amazing photos I meandered back to my apartment after picking up some yummy food and a bottle of wine.

The next day was another long walk to the Castelo de Sao Jorge. Walking through the castle was beautiful with more incredible views. I had lunch there staring out at the Tagus and dreaming of never leaving.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

That night I had signed up for a tour on Viator.com for a small group walking tour with a Fado performance. I was to meet my tour guide at an obelisk near the Rossio Metro Stop. As I walked up there were very few people standing there and one woman who looked about in my age bubble. Sure enough it was Sophia, my tour guide and it turned out, I was the only one on my tour! Talk about good luck. We strolled through the streets and I got to ask every question I wanted and of course had her undivided attention. Sophia was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly.

20140508_142855

We enjoyed some Ginjinha, and a trolley ride before ending up at our Fado perfomance and dinner.

20140508_161350 20140508_161954

We both had wine and chatted and by the time Sophia left I felt as though my friend was leaving. I walked back to my apartment and listened to fado in the distance until I dozed off.

The next day I walked to the Baixa/Chiado district for some shopping and to see the historical Santa Justa Elevator.

20140509_083731

Did you know Portugal was known for it’s cork production? No? Well, let me tell you they have everything in cork! I got myself a little clutch bag as my souvenir from my stay in Lisbon.

20140508_145827Lisbon had some of the friendliest people I’ve ever had the opportunity to meet while always being completely surrounded by sheer beauty. If you love architecture, go. Food, go. Only want to walk, go. Just pack a bag and go. Actually I lied, don’t pack, just go and shop when you get there.

On the 10th, I woke to the sunrise and left for my plane to Barcelona, and the next stop on my Euro Trip.

3 thoughts on “Landing in Lisbon

Leave a Reply

