new year, better you

Collage of several of Gray's muscle pictures, ...

Collage of several of Gray’s muscle pictures, by Mikael Häggström (User:Mikael Häggström) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

New year, new you. That is quite possibly the worst saying ever. Aside from it being over done and cliche, it also makes it sound as though the person you already are isn’t good enough. It’s as if who you have been for the past year needs a complete overhaul and quick.

I believe in a new year, BETTER you. Better can mean a myriade of things. Maybe it’s your health, or mental ability. Maybe it’s to be more spiritual, calm, a better friend. There’s always something for everyone to improve upon.

This year for me is about health. I have a new fitness goal. I have seen far too many pictures of the beautiful Michelle Lewin and she has become my “fitspo” or fit inspiration. She’s womanly and muscular which I find beautiful. By the end of 2014 I will be closer to that goal, though I’m sure not there. But I will work hard, every day.

2014 is also about my mental health. I want to be more patient. I am often quick to snap and though I have made great strides since last year I’m certainly not there yet.

I also don’t make resolutions. The only true resolution I keep is to do my best every day. And really, isn’t that all we can ask of ourselves and those around us?

Leave a Reply

