where have all the manners gone?

New Orleans: Thank you message in the grotto o...

New Orleans: Thank you message in the grotto of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church; added by those for whom prayer or miracles were granted (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m sure I’m not the only one to notice this but, what happened to manners?!

People no longer so please, you’re welcome, no problem, or my biggest one, THANK YOU! What happened to THANK YOU!

Someone held a door? THANK YOU. Someone did something nice? THANK YOU. Someone helped you? THANK YOU. Someone gave you something, anticipated your needs, went even the slightest bit out of their way for you? SAY THANK YOU!

I don’t know when those two words became so difficult to say but they have. Now people simply expect someone to do things for them, help them, take a portion off of their plate. We should never be expecting someone to help us, however we should be gracious and thankful when someone does.

For me, if I don’t get a Thank You, I have difficulty helping you again. Those two simply words of appreciation make me feel as though my gesture no matter how big or small has had an impact for you.

I really do believe that a little appreciation would go a long way.

2 thoughts on “where have all the manners gone?

Leave a Reply

