insurance shopping

Health Insurance Does Not Insure Health

Health Insurance Does Not Insure Health (Photo credit: SavaTheAggie)

I should start by saying I have a terminal genetic illness called Cystic Fibrosis. The average life expectancy is 37. I have always strived to be uber healthy. I eat right, drink lots of water, work out, try to sleep an appropriate amount and stay on a sleep schedule. Because of my slight OCD with my health I haven’t been hospitalized in 21 years, I’m 27. I work hard both at my career and at my health personally. However, one thing I’ve been pretty lax with since 22 is my healthcare. I had been seeing a Dr when I was living in Los Angeles, but I hate to take drugs, and when I returned to the east coast I opted for a more holistic route. I started yoga and saw a doctor for OMM (osteopathic manipulation medicine) instead of a typical pulmonologist. And had zero problems. All of this was done without health insurance. I work 2 jobs, per diem at a hospital and part time at an urgent care center. I work, a lot. But I’m not rolling in cash. And neither jobs offer me health insurance, which leads to shopping.

That’s right, I am shopping for health insurance and let me tell you this is not a fun outing. Shoes, shoes are fun. This. Is. Not.

After doing very minimal research I have discovered that each plan is astronomically expensive, the lowest being $180 and then jumping to $229 PER MONTH. I can’t see enough doctors to ever make that seem reasonable. My most expensive is my gynocologist and that’s $170 a visit. STILL LESS.

I am all for universal healthcare. But this is not what I had in mind. Europeans and Canadians are born with healthcare. They’re not paying for it as a fetus, it’s just there. I like that I can no longer be denied because I have CF but no one should be forced to pay that much for crappy coverage. And that’s exactly what this is. Basically I’m paying monthly but getting nothing.

This is very frustrating. There should be more options at better prices. I feel as though I’m being robbed. Basically my monthly payment for insurance is as much as 2 weeks at work.

….sigh….

Leave a Reply

